I didn’t think I would get to fall in love again.

A long time ago, I wrote an article on why I preferred the console gaming world as opposed to the PC gaming world. To summarize, I argued that consoles were much more cost efficient and that with one machine, I would be able to play a generation’s worth of games without having to drop over $1000. In response to my old self, I say, “Don’t knock it til’ you try it.”

Two years ago, I purchased a laptop because it was cheap, and I thought it was time my last one should be put to rest… My trusty Toshiba had been through a lot in its three years of service with me… especially with all of the abuse it went through. So when I was looking at laptops, I was looking at all the wrong details (no… not how well it could withstand physical trauma). I was looking at battery life, among other things that didn’t really have much to do with how efficient the machine ran. My brother told me not to, but in the end, I got this HP computer that was I thought slick and stuff. The laptop wasn’t fast enough to play even the simplest of games. It was able to run Starcraft II, but without a cooling pad, it overheated within 15 minutes. Actually, it overheated within 15 minutes of being off a cooling pad no matter what it was doing! About a year later, I had enough of it. I started to use my brother’s laptop. It ran Windows Vista (mine was Windows 7) but it was able to run lots of things! Well, it was able to run… but you know, running LoL at 15fps kind of defeats the purpose. Eventually, it started having overheating problems too, and it was also perma-attached to my cooling pad. At first, the fan was super quiet so it was really sweet, but then something happened, and it all went downhill from there. Jeff likened it to a jet engine.. haha. I was tired of using a computer that wasn’t mine.

At first, I was planning on getting another laptop… but the more I thought about it, the more it didn’t make sense to me. It’s not like I took my laptop anywhere, I even wrote my notes with pen and paper. So if I was about to drop $900 on a laptop, why not spend a little more and go the extra mile to get a desktop that I know would take care of all my needs? I would also know every single piece of hardware in there since my roommates are awesome and have taught me so much this past week. Canada Computer actually had quite a few deals and bundles when I went, so not all of the prices below are actually what I paid. The guy there who helped me was also pretty good, made some good decisions, and I was pretty confident with Jeff and Ferg there too.

So, if you are still following me, this is my new baby ❤

Before

Monitor: Samsung 23.6″ LED

CPU: Intel Core i5-3550 Quad-Core

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H

GPU: ASUS Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti

Storage: Crucial M4 128GB

RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2x4GB) RAM

PSU: Corsair Builder Series CX600 V2 600 Watt 80 PLUS Bronze Certified

Case: Antec Three Hundred Gaming Case

 

AfterIn this photo, I’ve got all of it put together! The unfortunate part is that the glare off of the screen is so strong you can’t admire it haha… But there’s still much to work on for this rig. The 128GB HDD is no where near enough space. I’m already looking into some internal harddrives, but that’ll run me another $80 or so. I’m also on the lookout for a wired gaming mouse which is another $50.

The building part of it was actually a lot of fun! The screws and everything were very organized and it was exciting to look at the motherboard with all of its chips, pathways, ports, and many other things on it. We unboxed the i5 chip, and Ferg and Jeff told me it was the most important part of the machine, its heart. They also said RAM was important because without it, my computer would forget things (*eyeroll*). The scariest parts were whenever I had to plug or snap something into the motherboard… I kept worrying that if I pushed too hard, I’d snap it, but obviously everything went really smoothly. On top of my Intel chip, there is a fan specifically for it. The guys were psyching me up for it because in their experience, it’s only ever been challenging. So when it took me about 10 seconds to get all 4 of the screws in, their reactions were pretty funny.

A lot of the people I’ve been talking to are concerned that my PSU isn’t strong enough, or that I don’t have enough fans installed. To be honest, I’m not too concerned. I won’t be buying much more for the rig for a while since I don’t plan on overclocking it, or adding another video card, etc. This is leaps and bounds better than what I had before, maybe I’ll worry about all the changes I’ll have to make after the next graphics generation comes along.

The entire time, Jeff and Ferg were telling me that all of the items on my list were one time purchases, or at least would last me a long time. My machine may not be top of the line, but I also really don’t need it to be. It can run all of the games that are currently on the market beyond their recommended settings and I know I’ll be fine for years to come. It is both the most expensive and intelligent purchase I’ve made to date. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to go back to the stone ages. So thanks Ferg, Jeff, Jordan, and Kenneth for all the help!

On the console gaming front, the next generation is happening right now. I’m not going to be interested in the Wii U until the next LoZ game and I’ve still got a while to wait before the Playstation 4. As for Microsoft’s next console, I’m not too interested. In the mean time, I’ll be patiently waiting for Tuesday when Ni No Kuni gets released by polishing my LoL skills. I’ve got an ongoing list of games I need to finish too!

Viva Technology~!

What do you guys think? Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “I didn’t think I would get to fall in love again.

Leave a Reply

